by Jan Marin Tramontano


What Love Becomes is a work of literary fiction that traces the intimate landscape of two contemporary marriages from their idealistic, yet misguided beginnings. Each couple mis...



What Love Becomes is a work of literary fiction that traces the intimate landscape of two contemporary marriages from their idealistic, yet misguided beginnings. Each couple mistakenly believe their happily ever after will come without really knowing who’ve they’ve married. What begins as self-deception quickly morphs into deception on a larger scale.Over time, their wounds come to define them—a marine, chronically ill from pills he took in the Persian Gulf War to protect him from Sarin gas, a ballet dancer whose ambitions are crushed by a single encounter, a woman desperate to have a baby, a man whose wife barely tolerates him and can’t bring herself to love their child. Long simmering tensions ultimately explode and the couples’ lives intertwine as the novel weaves through past and present. At its heart, this story is about the choices we make, how they shape our lives, and how our innate resilience propels us toward reclaiming the lost parts of ourselves.

"Jan Marin Tramontano has given us a novel of love and disenchantment, of dashed dreams and sustained hope as the lives of married professionals collide. Sexy, unflinching, pin-point accurate in its portrayal of parenting, WHAT LOVE BECOMES is an exhilarating work. With her nimble prose, her lyrical word-work, her compassion and her vision, this novelist creates a world in which I believe and characters about whom I care. Read this book.”
--James Robison, novelist (The Illustrator), short story writer (Rumor and OtherStories, The New Yorker Magazine, Best American Short Stories, among many others) screenwriter (New Orleans, Mon Amour), and poet. He is the recipient of the Rosenthal, Whiting, and Pushcart Awards.

Paperback, 426 pages
Publishing date: January 28, 2019
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1-949180-47-6
ISBN-13: 978-1-949180-47-3
Product Dimensions: 6 x 1 x 9 inches



Jan Marin Tramontano is a novelist and poet. Her books include a novel, Standing on the Corner of Lost and Found, three poetrychapbooks, Floating Islands, A Woman Sitting in a Café and Other Poems of Paris and Paternal Nocturne, and her father’s memoir, I am a Fortunate Man. Her poems also appearin her poetry collective’s anthologies, Java Wednesdays. and Peer Glass Review.

Her short stories, poetry and novel excerpts have been published in numerous literary journals, magazines, and newspapers such as Adelaide Literary Magazine, AOIS 21, Up the River, Poets Canvas, Chronogram, Women’s Synergy, Knock, The DuPage Valley Review, Moms Literary Review, New Verse News and Byline.  Her work also appears in Ophelia’s Mom and Surviving Ophelia.  In addition, her poems have won several poetry contests including Poets & Writers

She has participated in writing workshops throughout the country including the New York State Writers Institute, Florida Gulf Coast University’s Renaissance Academy’s Writers Collaborative, the Iowa Summer Writers Festival, a summer writing workshop at Mabel Dodge Luhan House in Taos, New Mexico, and the International Women’s Writing Guild.

After a long career in public health, Ms. Tramontano turned to her first love and worked as an independent writing consultant offering research, writing, and editing services to a wide array of clients.

Tramontano belongs to the Marco Island Writers Association and served on the board and as program chair of the Hudson Valley Writers Guild.  She now lives with her husband in Naples, Florida.

Book Reviews